THE HOMESTEAD EXEMPTION
WHAT IS HOMESTEAD?
Homestead exemption is a constitutional guarantee that
reduces the assessed value of residential property up to
$25,000 for qualified permanent residents.
WHO IS ELIGIBLE FOR THE HOMESTEAD
Every Florida resident who has legal or beneficial title
in equity to real property in the State of Florida, who
resides on said real property, and in good faith makes
the same his or her permanent residence to the
exclusion of all other places on or before January 1st of
the year application is made, shall be entitled to an
exemption from all taxation, except non-ad valorem
taxes, up to the assessed valuation of $25,000.
Commercial usage of property is not subject to any
HOW DO I QUALIFY?
In order to receive the benefit of the homestead
exemption, widow or widower exemption and all
disability exemptions, an initial application for the
specific exemption must be filed with the Property
Appraiser's Office. This requirement extends to all
ownership changes, including title changes, and
pertains to the exclusive property.
YOUR LOCAL PROPERTY APPRAISER OFFICE ACCEPTS APPLICATIONS ON A YEAR-ROUND BASIS AS FOLLOWS:
All applications must be in the office no later than the
close of business on March 1st of the year in which the
exemption is sought. A receipt will be supplied at the
time of application. Applications prior to January 1st
will be for the succeeding year. All applications taken
in January and February will be for the current year.
New exemptions will be reflected annually on our
web site no later than July.
WHAT KIND OF DOCUMENTS ARE NEEDED
All the below listed information / documents are
required at the time of application, if applicable.
If married, the following is required for you and
• Recorded deed or tax bill for the real property to be
homesteaded, which reflects the applicant as the
owner on or before January 1st of the year for
which an application is being filed.
• Florida driver's license.
• Florida vehicle registration.
• Social security number for the
applicant and his / her spouse.
• Voter Registration card.
• If not a U.S. citizen, a permanent visa and a
declaration of domicile.
A declaration of domicile may be obtained
through the Clerk of the Circuit Court.
• Mobile home registration or title, if your mobile
home needs to be declared as real property.
NOTE: Not more than one residency-required
exemption shall be allowed any individual or family
unit, in Florida or elsewhere. A Family Unit means a
husband and wife who are legally married as
recognized by the State of Florida.
ARE THERE ANY OTHER EXEMPTIONS IN
ADDITION TO HOMESTEAD?
Yes, other exemptions are available for permanent
Florida residents that can be applied to real property,
personal property or non-homestead property owned by
the eligible applicant.
For qualifying homeowners, under Florida Statute
193.703, the value of certain living quarters for parents
or grandparents shall be excluded from the value of the
property for purposes of ad valorem taxation. For
further information please refer to the 'Exemptions'
section on our web site.
$500 WIDOW'S AND WIDOWER'S EXEMPTION
Any widow or widower who is a permanent Florida
resident may claim this exemption. A death certificate
must be presented at time of application. If the widow
or widower remarries, he or she is no longer eligible.
(If the husband or wife was divorced prior to death of
the ex-spouse, he or she shall not be considered a
widow or widower).
$500 DISABILITY EXEMPTION /
$500 EXEMPTION FOR BLIND PERSONS
Every Florida resident who is totally and permanently
disabled or who is blind may qualify for the above
exemptions. If filing for the first time, please present at
least one of the following as proof of your disability:
If totally and permanently disabled, a certificate
from one licensed Florida physician or the United
States Department of Veterans Affairs, or from the
Social Security Administration to reflect the total
and permanent disability.
If claiming an exemption based on blindness, a
certificate from one licensed Florida physician, or
the United States Department of Veterans Affairs,
certifying the applicant to be blind, or a certificate
from Division of Blind Services.
$5,000 SERVICE-CONNECTED DISABILITY
Any ex-service member who is a permanent resident of
Florida who was discharged under honorable
conditions and is disabled by at least 10% in war or by
service-connected misfortune is entitled to a $5,000
exemption. If filing for the first time, please provide the
following as proof of your disability:
• A certificate from the United States Government, or
a certificate from the United States Department of
Veterans Affairs, or its predecessor.
An unremarried surviving spouse who had been
married to the disabled ex-service member, at the time
of death, for at least 5 years is also entitled to this
exemption. Please provide the following at the time of
• A certificate from the United States Government or
a certificate from the United States Department of
Veterans Affairs, or its predecessor, a marriage
certificate, and a death certificate.
TOTALLY AND PERMANENTLY DISABLED
An exemption is available for those Florida residents
who meet the requirements for homestead exemption
and who are totally and permanently disabled, which
exempts them from all ad valorem taxation of
qualifying real property.
For ex-military personnel, a letter is required from
the Veterans Administration or other military
branch or from the U.S. Government stating that
you are an honorably discharged veteran having a
total and permanent service-connected disability.
Under certain circumstances, this exemption may
be extended to an unremarried surviving spouse.
For quadriplegics, a letter from the Veterans
Administration or a certificate from two unrelated
licensed Florida physicians must be presented.
For paraplegics/hemiplegics and other totally
and permanently disabled persons requiring the
use of a wheelchair for mobility or who are
legally blind. A letter from the Veterans
Administration or a certificate from two-unrelated
licensed Florida physicians and a statement of gross
income of all persons residing on the homestead
property. The gross income limitation is adjusted
annually by the Consumer Price Index (C.P.I.).
Please call our office for current limitation
% DISCOUNT FOR DISABLED FL VETERAN'S
Any ex-service member who was a resident of the State
of Florida upon entering military service, is 65 years of
age or older, was discharged under honorable
conditions and the disability is considered combat
related, shall qualify to receive a percent discount from
the amount of the ad valorem tax on homestead
property. The discount shall be in a percentage equal to
the percentage of the veteran's permanent, serviceconnected
disability. Please provide the following:
Proof of age on January 1 of year discount applied.
Evidence the applicant was a resident of Florida
upon entering military service (DD form 214).
A certificate from the United States Department of
Veterans Affairs reflecting the percentage of the
veteran's service-connected disability.
Evidence identifying the disability or portion of
disability as combat related (Proof of a Purple
Proof of the veteran's honorable discharge.
You may claim only one residency-required exemption,
regardless of the number of residences owned in any
other county or state.
Section 196.031 (6), Florida Statutes, states:
"A person who is receiving or claiming the benefit of
an ad valorem tax exemption or a tax credit in another
state where permanent residency is required as a basis
for the granting of that ad valorem tax exemption or tax
credit is not entitled to the homestead exemption
provided by this section."
Section 196.131 (2), Florida Statutes, provides that any
person who knowingly and willfully gives false
information for the purpose of claiming homestead
exemption is guilty of a misdemeanor of the first